No initations for me…..

Peace.initiation-sarah4

I don’t do initiations. For SO MANY reasons…..

1-     I don’t do the deity thing. I discussed that. I don’t see that deities exist incarnate. Or ever did. It is always about the culmination of a personality. So I don’t need to give my life to one.

2-     When I was growing up in NJ, Yoruba synchronized religions were very prevalent among the Latino people of my area. I went to many ceremonies where folks “got their heads.” Actually they are really great parties if you can get an invitation. And bring a gift! A NICE one. I had a friend who received her head from one worker who died before she could really learn what to do with it. So she found another person who made her do the ceremonies all over again. Guess what? She ended up with a different head! And those ceremonies aren’t cheap. It’s all dependant on who you are working with. Different people will give different results.

3-     When you give your life over to a deity, you can’t work with any other deity. I have heard folks talk about a child of Oshun cannot be in the same room as a child of Oya (or is it Oba) when Shango is present. Ain’t nobody got time for that. I have enough problems. If you are working ATR you really can’t mix that with Egyptian, Hindu or Polynesian pantheons. Or you can’t eat fish or whatever! Too many rules…

4-     This is an important one…. I already gave my life to Jesus. A few times. LOL. So technically I am already initiated into Christianity.  There are no un-initiation ceremonies. So…..

5-     And this is the MOST Important… HooDoo ain’t about that life. This is NOT a religion. So you won’t find images of deities on my altar unless I couldn’t get candle that didn’t have one.

To be perfectly honest, I don’t’ want to have to go through all the rigmarole of an initiation. If that’s your bag go for it. Normally, Initiation comes with a lot of education that you won’t get just hanging around the periphery. So in that instance it’s a good thing. But I am too cheap to pay thousands of dollars just to say I am a child of whomever. I have parents already; and they are ENOUGH!!

Peace,

The HooDoo Honey

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

