Holidays

Peace.

The summer is coming to a close. And the autumn equinox will be upon us soon. I want to build about “holidays.”

Holidays or Holy Days are COMPLETELY self defined. That means, if a day is important to you, you should celebrate it. I think holidays are important because it marks the passage of time while giving you something to look forward to.  Christians have their days, Wiccans have theirs. Since I have feet in both worlds I celebrate some and not others.

As a former Christian I like the “holiday season.” I start feeling that good energy on labor Day. I got married my late husband around Labor Day. So it holds a special place in my heart and whereas now I don’t necessarily look at it as a day to party, it gets my thoughts inline with preparing to celebrate my ancestors.

I love the Halloween Day of the Dead time. From 10/31-11/2 I do my Day of the dead observances. I visit and clean graves. I remind my self during this time more than any other that there are martyrs that died so that I can live the life of my choosing. Also, on 10-31, 2005, my late husband came to me in a dream and told me that I was free to follow any path that interested me. That I was not tied to paths and choices that had been made for me. Do I think it was actually him? No. But that realization was enough to get me on a track that eventually led to me leaving Christianity. A WONDERFUL choice for me.

My birthday is in November as well as Thanksgiving. I observe both those days with joy and celebration. In December I acknowledge the winter solstice and then I enjoy all the NYE and Day brings. I also observe Kwanza. But no one really knows how to celebrate this. Folks don’t know whether to party or be introspective. I say do you. I don’t think folks are in a position to give everyone in their personal ciphers 7 gifts and have the time to party every day unless you’re a teacher. So IMO introspection is the key here.

Around the beginning of the year falls perihelion. It’s the day the Sun and the Earth are the closest. It’s a romance holiday. In February I do Valentines Day and the Father’s Bornday. After those days, I’m good until Easter and the Spring equinox celebrations. I always juice fast for 3 weeks during lent. I don’t celebrate Easter at all. Should it be super close to the equinox then it will get in by association, otherwise I don’t think about it. Come May Day, I go looking for festivals and fires to jump over. My next holidays include show and Prove and the Summer solstice and that is my holiday year.

For the most part I always have something to look forward to. And the major days are astrological days that allow me govern my garden and make those seasonal decisions we all make. When to switch my cold weather clothes for warm ones and vice versa. When to order seeds and catalogs. When to start the fall garden. When to plan my summer vacation. Just so many things.

But is any holiday vital for HooDoo? Nope. Not one.

So again, Do you!

Peace,

The HooDoo Honey

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

