Consecration

 

Peace.Consecration

 

You know, I had never given the thought to consecrating my tools, oils, candles etc… until I started studying with Wiccans.

 

Up until then… You make reagents and you’re done. If you want some extra oomph use a correspondence, set it out under an appropriate moon Sit it on top of a scripture or make it on an auspicious day. But never did I think that my work wouldn’t work without all the spooky stuff.

 

Christians, Wiccans and other pagans have entire rituals that are designed to consecrate items. For about the last 6 years I have struggled with the idea of such. Should I or shouldn’t I? Is it necessary? If so how exactly would I do this without paying homage to a deity? Too many questions. Too much stress. Stress = belly fat = no good.

 

The definition of the verb to “consecrate” means make or declare (something, typically a church) sacred; dedicate formally to a religious or divine purpose. Does that sound like what I do. So the tool that I use to scribe candles will ONLY serve that function? I can’t scribe a candle with whatever I have on hand? Seems like more trouble than it’s worth.

 

I grew up going to a church where anything that was set aside for only church use was “consecrated”. It meant that to use it for a reason other than the 1 things it was intended for was blasphemous. That’s why I don’t think we need to consecrate our stuff.

 

Hoodoo is too patchwork, too spur of the moment to justify an item for just 1 use. Also, it’s not the ways of Black folks to have anything that serves only 1 purpose.

 

I recently whipped up a batch of hot foot powder while getting ready for work. I made it and my lunch concurrently. I put it in a Ziploc bag and then in my lunch bag. I used it when I got where I was going then went on to work. And it has been exceptionally functional

 

I’m over consecration.

 

 

Peace

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

