Starting

Peace.

.

Not everyone who has an interest in conjure has a personal access to it. I grew up in a very root-specific family who practiced even if they weren’t trying to. Not everybody has this. But that should never prevent someone from following the path if they feel drawn to it.

The 1st place people turn now a days is the internet. But the internet has a lot of information that can be very overwhelming. The internet can also get you into trouble because it will give you access to things you aren’t ready for. You may start something you can’t finish and that’s never good.

But here is the thing…. You should ALWAYS look for someone to teach you in person. See if there is practitioner in your area who is taking on students. There are always folks who read or divine. Certainly they have expertise in the otherwordly. Also, learning divination is something that all workers need to be able to do. Even in the most rudimentary form of this life. That could be your jumping off point. Learn some form of divination.

Another group of people you could seek out are Wiccans. Wicca is really out the broom closet these days. This is a great resource for pagan information There are covens everywhere. All you gotta do is look. Wiccans will teach you the basics. But not without a cost. A literal cost. I have feelings about Wiccans. They aren’t good either. I’ve been burnt by covens.

When I decided I wanted to walk this path, my family flat out refused to teach me what they knew. They love white Jesus far too much. So all I was able to do was pull out some of the traditions I remembered from my youth, confer with my mother (she doesn’t know much. She was the child they ruined) and figure it out. Initially, I successfully took a pagan class. All Wiccans are Pagans, not all Pagans are Wiccans. That gave me enough insight to be able to define what I wanted to do with my work. I then began to study with a coven… and that’s when the fight started. Most covens are very white, and white people can be racist. They don’t have to be Christian to feel superior. I would love to find a Black coven. I would add on with a Black coven. But there aren’t any in my vicinity. After being the brunt of passive aggression in the name of learning, I was told that I, a Black female, scared all 25 of the white people in that group. Oh well….

Lessons Learned:

Everything I know, I didn’t learn from 1 source. I learned a lot more and was able to shape my work into what I do currently. And it’s always changing. You must be open to learning throughout your life for learning’s sake.

Books are fine, but Knowledge without action will not lead to Understanding. Meaning, reading alone won’t teach you everything. Did you learn to drive from just reading about it? No, you had to practice before you got a license.

Conjure is a broad thing. You cannot be good at everything. You must declare a major. You don’t go to college and major in College. You pick a field that you want to be the best at. For example, I’m not good with court cases. I don’t have experience personally with court, so why would I be? Don’t be a Conjure jack of all trades, master of none. Be an exceptional tarot reader, astrologist, healer, herbalist, guide, court case, psychic, revenge, dark art, necromancer, whatever. You can always add to your resume later

TV ain’t real. Charmed, Harry Potter, while interesting is not real. Just like doctor shows aren’t real and law shows aren’t real. It’s entertainment purposes only.

You define the type of practitioner you want to be. If you want to be solitary, that’s okay. Eclectic is cool, but if you want to add on in groups that’s fine too. If someone starts to tell you that there way is the ONLY way… run. Break up with them via text.

Try not to appropriate other traditions. Every culture has a tradition. Your own traditions will be stronger from your hands. Bit if you feel you must, be solitary as not to offend.

And you will not learn “spells” from the internet. I’m sorry. You can get good information, but no real work. I wouldn’t trust anything online outside of information. Never trust anybody. Understand why you’re doing what you do. Don’t just take folks word for it.

This is a discussion not a lecture. You’re welcome to add on.

Peace

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

