Fate or Free Will

Peace.

This is something that has been floating through my mental and I just wanted to let it out….

Some folks believe in free will… others believe in fate. I believe that both can peacefully coexist.

I have been playing a game on my phone called Episode. In the game you get to make choices about the development of the story. Seems like if you can make decisions about the direction of the story… then the outcome should be different for each person playing the game. It’s not. Everyone who gets to the end… gets to the same end.

I used to teach adults in a vocational school. One of my former students claimed to be a psychic. She was discussing her “ability”(As one with empathic abilities of my own… she had no abilities. What she had was a con) and she made a point I hadn’t considered…. Psychics forecast the future as it is at that moment. You can change it. If you have been predicted to have 6 children and you don’t want any, you can get your tubes tied. That makes sense the way she put it. But still, I disagree.

Fate speaks of the Destination. Free Will speaks of the journey. Those are 2 different designations.

Fate is defined as the development of events beyond a person’s control. Free will is defined as the power of acting without the constraint of necessity or fate; the ability to act at one’s own discretion. These definitions do not make the two mutually exclusive.

We all are born and we all will die. Birth and Death are fate for us all. But in the meantime, what you do with your life is you’re own free will. If you decide to be president, a serial killer or a beautician that is all on you. That is a very obvious example but it works.

In the above “psychic” explanation, you may in fact sterilize yourself so you won’t bear 6 children. But what happens if your brother and sister in law die in a tragic accident and you end up with their children? Or you marry a man with 6 children? It could still happen even though you took steps to prevent it. The only way to escape “fate” is to kill yourself after a reading you don’t like. And I doubt very much that folks would do that.

So there it is…

Peace

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

