Circles

Peace!!!!

I know there are a lot of newbies out there. But I need you to make a decision with regard to what you are practicing. Are you Wiccan or are you a rootworker?

If you are Wiccan, then we probably will disagree on everything. And that is cool. Everything ain’t for everybody. I don’t do deities… I don’t do Wiccan Rede. I don’t do 3-fold comeback. I don’t “so mote it be.” I’m a root worker. I don’t have to. I have experience with Wicca. I studied with a coven for 2 years before I got sick of it. It wasn’t for me. I was fleeing Xianity and Wicca was just another organized religion. I came back home to my conjure roots.

Circles are what Wiccans do to make a space “holy.” My see on that is a space is holy because I say it is. Holy is defined as a space that is set apart and special. I don’t see why you have to invoke the elements, dragons, gatekeepers and whatever to do that. Clear off and clean a spot in a room and use that spot for your work. BOOM! Holy. You don’t need a circle for that.

Because I studied with Wiccans for as long as I did, I know how to cast a circle. I own an athame, I have a chalice, a pentagram and all the other Wiccan tools of the trade. I’m not knocking their hustle. And I honor that circles do infact exist. Since circle casting is in my repertoire of Pagan abilities, I might use it from time to time. I suffer from night terrors and have since childhood. I don’t have them all the time anymore, but occasionally I see them coming. I find that if I cast a circle, I don’t have the terror. I’ll cast a circle if I don’t want the work traced back to me. A circle is supposed to cut you off from the mundane. Most folks don’t know how to divine well enough to trace work back t to the owner. So I don’t always feel the need to cast a circle… But if they do… I most definitely will.

Should you choose, as a rootworker that you ant to cast circles….. sigh….. there are many techniques. You can cast like Wiccans and use candles and athames. You can use just candles. You can use salt or even cornmeal. I’ve personally known workers that used cornmeal or salt. I find them messy unless you’re outside, so I use candles. I don’t follow any of the Wiccan directives about circle etiquette with the exception of not breaking the circle until I’m done with it. Pee before you cast it.

All I suggest is for you to do the Knowledge and decide if circle casting is for you.

Peace

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

