Golden Rule

Peace.

When I was a xian, the golden rule was one of the scripts that was heavily preached. Luke 6:31… “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. “And as a child, I always tried to live up to it. I treated people as I wished they would treat me. But I never got the results back that I had intended. Do you know why? That scripture is not a way to conjure folks into treating you well. That scripture means show people how you want to be treated. It doesn’t mean they will do it.

When I was a child in NJ, it would snow several times every winter. My mother would send me and my brother out to shovel old people’s sidewalks and driveways. We weren’t allowed to even consider taking their money for fear of maternal retribution. The reason my mother did this, was because she hoped that she was earning favors for her mother. She told us her rationale was if she sent her children out to help someone’s mother, then someone would send their children out to help her mother. She promptly stopped sending us out when my grandmother died. Who knows if her conjure worked?

I mind my own business, I mean I could give classes… but that’s not my business. Oh I be wanting to know folks business, especially the juicy tidbits… but I never inquire. Even if they start to tell me, I’ll stop them and walk away. You know why? It’s not my business. Does that stop folks from entering MY business? It should according to the common interpretation of Luke 6:31. But you knew the answer was no it doesn’t, right? You knew because of human nature and you know how folks do.

Luke 6:31 said do unto others as you’d HAVE them do unto you. KJV always sounds so authoritative… Not do unto others exactly how they would do unto you. That prescribed law means teach folks how you wanna be treated. And if you don’t get what you want…. then you are either a shitty teacher or have dumbassed students.

Peace

About The HooDoo Honey

I have a familial link and attachment to Rootwork. I strive to share how this culture is seamlessly integrated into my life. I specialize in Laying Tricks, Divination, Personal Protection and Healing. Please be respectful. And don't ask me to work on your behalf unless you know me personally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

